Previous Page

Advanced Settings

5 Next Page

To view the Advanced Settings menu, right click on the dock and select "Advanced settings". You will be presented with the following menu of options.

Advanced Settings menu.


The Advanced Settings menu allows you to change the following features (off by default, unless noted) categorized as:

Dock options (menu expanded by default): Run at startup (on by default), Lock dock settings, Use touch-mode (for touch screens), and Switch to 'grow' effect or Switch to 'glow' effect or Switch to 'swing' effect. 

Settings data (collapsed by default): Move desktop shortcuts into dock, Backup / restore settings, Restore factory settings, and Reset all questions / warnings.

Unloading the dock options (collapsed by default): Close dock, and Turn off dock and switch back to desktop icons.

To expand a collospsed menu, click the section title (i.e. Settings data) or arrow and that section will expand, displaying the list of options and close the other section that was expanded.

Dock Options

These options are related to how the dock works, such as: run when Windows starts (run at startup), lock dock settings so they can not be changed, work with a touch screen computer (touch-mode), and three choices of how the icons appear when you move the mouse over them.

Run at Startup

Run at Startup (on by default) loads Dell Dock during Windows startup or after a restart. If you don't want the dock to load at startup, uncheck the "Run at startup" box. After disabling this feature, if you want to run the Dock you will need to launch it from the Start Menu (under All Programs, Dell, Dell Dock). To re-enable the option, check the box, and a message box will appear to notify you the dock will start when Windows loads.

Lock Dock Setting

Once you have finished your customizations and have the dock the way you want it, this feature will keep it from being changed or moved to a different location.  To enable it, check the "Lock dock settings" box, then click on the desktop to close the menu.

Then if you try to drag a shortcut onto the dock, you will see the no symbol preventing you from doing so. It will also prevent you from adding, deleting or moving any category, shortcut icons or separators. Also, if you right click on the dock, the menu will not have the options to change the dock.

To make changes again, uncheck the “Lock dock settings” box.

Use Touch-Mode

Touch-mode is for use with computers that have touch sensitive screens (i.e. tablet system). This allows the person to physically touch the screen with their finger or a stylus to activate & run an application. Enabling Touch-mode makes the Dell Dock larger than normal and makes the text description always visible (as opposed to when a mouse would move over the icon to make it appear) so icons are easier to locate & touch. When in this mode, the dock will still operate as normal with a mouse.

Touch-Mode - larger dock Dell Dock in Touch-mode - larger icons and titles always visible.

Switch to 'Grow' Effect (default)

The Switch to 'grow' effect is how the icons on the dock react when you move the mouse cursor over it or select it in touch-mode. The grow effect is the default (factory setting), but can be changed to either the Glow or Swing effects. Only one effect can be used at a time.

Normal icon Normal icon size.

Grow effect Icon grows larger when
mouse moves over it.

Switch to 'Glow' Effect

The Glow effect lightens up the icon when the mouse cursor moves over it.

Normal icon Normal icon.

Glow effect
Icon appears brighter.

Switch to 'Swing' Effect

The Swing effect animates the icon so it swings left & right (like the pendulum on a clock) until it slows down and stops, moving. As the cursor moves across the other icons on the dock, they will swing side to side as well.

Normal icon Normal icon.

Swing effect
Icon swings to the left.

Settings Data

These options allow you to move a large number of shortcuts to the dock, backup/restore how you configured the dock, restore how the dock looked when it was new from Dell (restore factory settings) and reset all questions / warnings.

Settings data

Move Desktop Shortcuts into Dock

With this option you can move some or all of your desktop icons into your dock to reduce desktop clutter and organize shortcut icons. Selecting "Move desktop shortcuts into dock" will display a dialog box listing the current shortcut icons on the desktop. You may notice that some icons (i.e. Computer, Network, Recycle Bin, ...) are not included. This is because these icons are not shortcuts and can not be moved off the desktop into the dock. Shortcut icons have a curved arrow Shortcut arrow on the icon, otherwise it is not a shortcut.

To move shortcuts into the dock, check the box next to the shortcuts you want moved. If you want all of them moved into the dock, click the "check / uncheck all" box at the bottom and it will check all of the boxes for you. Likewise, clicking the box again will uncheck all boxes. If you want most of the shortcuts moved, you can check the box to select all of them, then uncheck the shortcuts you do not want moved.

Clean my desktop

When ready for the shortcuts to be moved from the desktop onto the dock, click the Import button. (Click Skip or Close to cancel.)

Shortcuts moved on dock

The shortcuts will be placed on the dock in the Shortcuts section, to the right of the separator. From here if you would like to organize the shortcuts into drawers, drag & drop each icon on the desired category.

Backup / Restore Settings

The Dock has its own backup and restore feature. When you would like to save your settings and content, click on "Backup / restore settings". A small window will open asking for a name to save your settings. Type a name or description and click Save, then click Close to close the dialog box. (Click Close to cancel.)


Backup settings. Type in a description for the backup file.





Backup Success. After clicking Save, this message will
tell you it was saved successfully.


To restore settings, open the Advanced settings menu and click on "Backup/restore settings". Select the appropriate backup file from the "Load from backup" pull-down menu.  Click Load and your dock will be updated to reflect those settings.

Restoring a backup.

This can be helpful if multiple people use your computer because each person can configure the dock the way they want and then save the settings. Then the person can load their dock settings when they use the computer.

Restore Factory Settings

If you ever want to revert back to the way the dock was originally configured when your computer was new, click "Restore factory settings". Click on "Yes" to complete this step. (Click "No" (Do not completely reset my dock) or Close to abort.) If you are not sure you want to reset your dock, you can backup your settings first, using the "Backup/restore settings" option.

Please note that when you restore to factory settings the categories, shortcuts or separators you added will be lost. Any customization changes you made including: location of dock, coloring, renamed icons, and any changes under Advanced Settings will also be lost. There is no way to undo this command unless you used the Backup/restore option.

Reset dock to factory settings.

Reset all Questions / Warnings

While changing the dock, you may see dialog boxes (i.e. asking you "Don't ask me this question again" or "Always use this answer"). If you checked any of those boxes, this option will in effect, uncheck all of them.

To reset this feature, click "Reset all questions / warnings" and you will see a message box confirm the questions have been reset.  Click OK or Close.

Questions reset.

Unloading the Dock

Unloading the dock

Close Dock

Clicking "Close dock" will stop the program, just like the Close button on other programs. A confirmation window will ask you to confirm your decision. Click "Yes" to close the dock.

After closing the dock, if you had "Run at startup" checked, then the next time you restart Windows, Dell Dock will run. Otherwise, you will have to locate Dell Dock on the Start Menu & click on it (Start > All Programs > Dell > Dell Dock).

Close Dell Dock.

Turn Off Dock and Switch Back to Desktop Icons

If you don't want to use the dock anymore and want the icons moved back to your desktop, click on "Turn off dock and switch back to desktop icons". Please note that there is no undo command for this option. A confirmation will display asking you to confirm your decision. Click "Yes" to turn off the dock & export all shortcuts to desktop. Click "No" (or to cancel) to keep the dock running.

Turn off Dell Dock.